some news

Some News…

The usual lunch venue, the regular guys, the usual food.

So… you ok?… you’ve been looking a bit serious since we got here… and wine! don’t usually see you having a drink at lunchtime…

I’m fine… well…to tell the truth, I went to the doc’s this morning and it’s kind of shaken me up a bit…

Hey, I’m sorry if it’s some bad news, I didn’t know you were… ill… or …anything…

Oh y’know I just went for a checkup…. but… I don’t know how to say it…. bit of a shocker really…. turns out I’m….. I’m going to die…

Oh my god! … but…. sorry…I don’t know what to say….I mean….you look so well…

Sure… I am well, the checkup was fine, I don’t have any health problems…. it’s just…. talking afterwards the doc said….
’I don’t think you’re going to die for a while yet ’… and… like… he was just laughing when he said it….I said…
‘what do you mean ….”die”…. why should I die if I’m not ill?’

Come on man, are you joshing about now…. there’s nothing wrong with you… is there?

Seems there is… y’know, then the doc said…. he was still laughing mind you….he said…
‘come on now, everyone dies when they get old’ !… and I kept grilling him….apparently we’re all pretty certain to get ‘old’ and it’s always fatal…. kind of like Ebola but slower.

…do you…does that mean….I’m gonna get it too?…

well… I can give you the number of this doc, he might tell you something different than he told me…. but he seemed to be saying…..yeah…everyone….

but…but…what’s the point then… I mean…what’s the point of getting born in the first place!… seems like a bad joke…

well I asked the doc just that…at least he’d stopped laughing by then… he was looking at me kind of…strangely…said
‘well you get to live a useful and productive life for a start’… what kind of an answer was that?… I looked at him… just kind of…. y’know …disbelief… stupid wanker… I mean that’s really not going to cut the mustard as you gasp your last one, cut down by ‘old’… I tried a new tack with the doc…
‘ok…look… I remember being about 3 years old… playing with some toys… so now I’m 43….that means 40 years just passed without me doing anything to make it happen!!’… he was floundering now… I mean…these guys are supposed to understand life…he just says
‘well you know, that’s the default isn’t it, time passes…tempus fugit and all that’ … I just stared at him….. now I’m just speaking like…gritted teeth…
‘the default!!… you mean like some really small writing on the bottom of a form that says sign here if you want to opt out of time passing… I was 3 years old man, I couldn’t fucking read or write!’… I was getting mad by now….

yeah…I’m not surprised…I would too. look I tell you what…I’m going to go see a different doctor….y’know get a different opinion…. see if they match up…but, wow…this is a mind-blower & no mistake… thanks I will have a glass of wine now… tell you what I’ll order another bottle…

I'm very happy for you to give me feedback or any other comments.

